Easter 2013

This afternoon, my dad’s family and I celebrated Easter at my cousin Kelly’s beautiful home. It was so much fun, and I got to see my family, which is always a blessing. My dad has five siblings; two brothers and three sisters. I love them all dearly and we have so much fun together! Here is a little recap on our wonderful day.

IMG_2111

Pre-party photo shoot with dad!

IMG_2116

And here’s mom.

ali red striped dress

This one’s just me. I thought I’d get in an outfit post on here.

IMG_2126

IMG_2153

I actually ended up wearing these shoes to the party.

IMG_2182

We spent our whole afternoon outdoors, and the only thing inside was the food!

IMG_2184

Being a part of a Lebanese family, we take our food very seriously! Everyone in the family takes part in this area of expertise, and makes a dish.

IMG_2185

We had orso salad, tomato salad, tomato sandwiches, both spicy and regular hummus, baba ghanoush (eggplant dip, similar to hummus), various fatayers (cheese, pizza, spinach, etc), and this dish called yabrak (ya-ba-da), which is rice and meat rolled in vine leaves. That one, my mom made. It is one of my absolute favorite meals.

IMG_2189

IMG_2190

IMG_2192

Some of the fatayers.

IMG_2194

IMG_2195

IMG_2196

IMG_2214

This was the dessert.

IMG_2215

We had fruit, cake, cake pops, and various lebanese desserts.

IMG_2207

You see those diamonds with the almond in the center? My mom made those as well. They are a secret family recipe, and it is the most amazing dessert in the world. I can’t even describe how good they are, but it tastes like heaven with every bite.

IMG_2216

IMG_2217

IMG_2218

IMG_2141

This is my cousin Kelly (and the host)’s beautiful daughter, Mia. She is now two years old, and she is one of the cutest kids I’ve ever known. I babysit her often, and I love her so much!

IMG_2144

As you can tell, she loves the camera! She posed for it and everything! And, thanks to her extremely fashionable and stylish mom, she was wearing an adorable blue striped dress with a pink belt! Très chic!

{Forever 21 dress, forever21.com; Marc by Marc Jacobs Daisy perfume necklace, marcjacobs.com; Blue striped Roxy loafers, roxy.com; White Converse All Stars, converse.com; Betsey Johnson watch, betseyjohnson.com}

4 thoughts on “Easter 2013

  1. Ali,
    Is there anything you’re not good at?????
    I absolutely love this blog!
    I do admit to being partial to the family aspect of it.
    Anyways, keep it up girl. I’m loving it!
    Sue
    xo

  2. Ali…it seems like yesterday that you were little like Mia. Now you’ve grown up to be a beautiful, multi-talented young lady! What a wonderful role model you are for all the little ones! You’re right…it is a real blessing to spend time with each other! I love you and am so proud of you! Great pictures, great blog…God bless you! XXX

Leave a Reply

