Getting in the Christmas Spirit

I can’t believe there are only 28 days until Christmas! It doesn’t feel like there’s less than a month left, but I know it will pass by very quickly. It suddenly hit me this weekend, so I’ve been recording every second Christmas movie on tv, preparing for a holiday movie weekend marathon. In the midst of all this, I thought I would share with you some of my holiday favourites.

Great Holiday Movies

Elf

1. Elf

This is hands down the greatest Christmas movie I’ve ever seen, and believe me, I’ve seen a lot. Not only is it set in New York, but the music is great, and it features some of my favourite actors; Will Ferrell and Zooey Deschanel. This is a heartwarming Christmas classic about that highlights the importance of family, love, and the fact that you are never too old to believe in the wonders of Christmas. It’s the perfect movie to cozy up on the couch with a warm blanket and a hot cup of cocoa as the snow falls outside.

home alone

2. Home Alone

This one’s another classic that I can’t go without. It’s a hilarious and clever plot line written by the great John Hughes about a boy who is accidentally left behind when his family goes off on vacation for the holidays. While alone, he has to fend off a nasty burglar duo using creative and amusing tactics. He learns the true meaning of Christmas, even if he is all alone.

national lampoon

3. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

I’m a fan of Chevy Chase, especially in the tv series, Community, and his roles always leave me cracking up by the end. This one’s all about family, as this funny man tries to create the perfect Christmas for his family, but unfortunately fails miserably in his attempts to do so. It’s a classic example of murphy’s law, where anything that can possibly go wrong, will go wrong. It’s just too funny.

Cozy Holiday Recipes

Peppermint Bark (A Taste of Koko)

d09cc8548244f65e9d520724bc288cfd

Chocolate Marshmallow Pops (White on Rice Couple)

d125f92679b97ccb0ed6ccd7413a13a6

Chocolaty Melting Snowmen (Better Homes & Gardens)

101899332.jpg.rendition.largest

Holiday Decorations

DIY Clay Ornaments (A Beautiful Mess)

6a00d8358081ff69e2017c341e22e0970b-800wi

Table Setting (Snippet & Ink)

31d2d2ee6a852eec02ace3d1e19d4865

DIY Advent Calendar (Martha Stewart)

0145390b4741a6b490952f824529f6a4

Leave a Reply

