2013: A Year In Review

 

Hmm.. How can I possibly describe 2013 without literally writing a book about it? This past year has been the craziest, most exciting year yet! I’ll probably end up saying that for the rest of my life, as every year passes, but to be honest I sure hope that I do because it means that I’m living life to the fullest and not wasting a second.

2013 collage 1

Winter

My first big memory of 2013 was the Variety Show at my school. It was the first real time that I sang in front of 98% of my school population, and I couldn’t have asked for a better response. Even though I was so nervous, shaking vigorously, the feeling that I got while I was on stage was priceless. Plus, I was singing beside one of my best friends, so that help a lot.

Now, Lucia came to stay with my family and I in the fall of 2012, but her leaving in February really hit me hard. She became my sister, and it’s difficult to let go of someone of whom you become so close to. It felt weird to not see her toothbrush in our, err my bathroom, amongst many other things! We had so many amazing memories together that I certainly won’t forget.

 

2013 collage 2

Spring

Next was my most recent trip to New York City. What can I say, it’s New York! This was the first time just my mom and I went together, and it was a long weekend filled with shopping, shopping and more shopping! What a perfect way to spend spring break!

I also travelled to Boston with my school in late April. Spent a lot of time with my friends, and hmm… Oh yeah, it was less than a week after the Boston Marathon bombing and we were under lockdown for about a day because of it! That’s definitely an unforgettable trip!

2013 collage 3

 

Summer

This summer was by far the best of my life. I mean, it really started with my performance at the World Renowned Montreal Jazz Festival with my school jazz band. Then it was my band, The Day Dreamers, performing at our local Battle of the Bands. Then my Sweet 16! Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera! Osheaga, Seeing Daughter live, Chicago, seeing my cousins again, everything! It was an unforgettable summer.

2013 collage 4

Fall/Winter:

With the start of my senior year came so many different memory-worthy occasions and moments. Some school-related, being my Semi-Formal and our last back-to-school barbecue. Others non-school related. Performing at Golfstock was awesome, going to see Franz Ferdinand with one of my best friends, seeing my childhood best friend, and… Christmas!

 

I honestly can’t believe that 2013 is already over. Time seriously flies by. I’m so grateful to have experienced everything that I did this past year, and I’m so excited for what the next year will bring me. Cheers, to 2014!

 

Leave a Reply

